FINAL PROJECT (dunt dunt duuuuuuhhhhh)

November 5, 2009

I know you all don’t want to read my yammering on and on about my final project for alt. process, so I will do my best to explain through pages of my sketchbook and images…

sketchbook1sketchbook2

My idea is quite simple: I am going to create a book, that documents people living in remote and rural areas of New York State. I will also include commentary and profiles of the towns/townspeople.I will shoot it all in peel apart Polaroids, using 3 different film types ( fujifilm fp-100c , fp-3000b, and some expired Polaroid 669) and some expired slide film that I will have crossed processed .

I believe my best ideas come from the negative aspects of my life. That sounds terrible but its true. When ever something bothers me, I either make light of it by some how incorporating humor, or fight to change what bothers me. As of late I have become severely depressed with my environment. I’ve lived in Bath Ny, for most of my life, and went to a college that is exactly 32 miles from my home. Part of me is just itching to move on , go get my M.F.A at the School of The Museum of Fine Arts in Boston. ( My dream Grad School) and be done with these closed minded sheltered towns. I know I should be taking in and making use of everything going on around me now…but I’ve just become so discouraged by the area that I’ve found it hard to do so.

Its a candid moment , one that I doubt anyone will read…but it gets me to my point…

I’ve decided that what I need to do , is flip my current situation. Take something negative and make it positive . If I think these towns give me a ‘artists block’ , why don’t I document that. Its as simple as that. ‘New York , No , Not City’ will also be a pun at all the out of staters who automatically think your NYC when you say your from New York. A how the ‘other-half ‘ lives kinda deal.

I hope it will be successful.

Recently a good old friend gave me 12 packs of 11 years expired 669 polaroid film , I took one pack already with my Reporter Camera. For its ‘death date’ being in 1998, it still makes some fabulous images. I’ve noticed its pretty touchy with light, and the ASA is 85, so shooting outside in pure sunlight is the only way to get an image. The chemistry fogs up and produces these sometimes beautiful clouds on the prints… Here are some images from the first pack of 8…

dad

This mystery man with a mustache is my father, Chester

This shows a range of exposures. I wanted to get somewhere in between the 2nd and last one, but with a only a simple exposure knob with 7 little lines as settings, its pretty much trial and error. But mostly error.

room

porch

My best shot of the day, featuring decaying flowers on my front porch

Over the summer I stole some family photos from my grandmother that where taken with polaroids, they are pretty spectacular , and aim at what I am trying to achieve so I deem them worthy of posting…

gpabe

My Great grandfather, Abe. He was quite the wise alec, and actually lived in the school bus you see in the background just because he could.

pappy

My grandfather Dale is modeling the snazzy white jump suit

I also found a great image I took when I was around 12 ( ?) with a terrible digital camera…I am in the process of doing a stone litho of it…

bathlaundromat

The sign lies

Leave a Reply

