Two paychecks and some tears later…

November 9, 2009

I ordered 3 boxes of Fujifilm fp-100c and 4 of Fujifilm fp-3000b off B&H last week. I also won one of these bad boys on Ebay:

Polaroid propack, in all of its glory

And this is why I am now broke.

I needed a camera with a external flash since I am shooting with films with such low film speed. Most of the old land cameras take flash cubes, which are now growing ever more extinct and cost close to a dollar a flash, unless you hunt them down at a yard/sale thrift store. But quite frankly I dont have the time or money to waste on the cubes. So I bought this camera. Both the film and the camera are coming today, lets hope it works, otherwise there will be more tears.

I finally threw some film in my Polaroid Big Shot :bigshot005

I had to swap out my rollers from my Polaroid reporter and put into this camera, I’ve done a lot of research and everyone says that the developer spreader that is put inside these cameras fails miserably after the second or third shot. From everything I’ve read online, this camera is NOT intended for daylight, and will basically be useless without Magic cubes… but attempting to prove the world wide web wrong, I did a test outside with my good ol’ pal Dana.

dana002

Dana

She looks super pissed, probably because I made her stare into direct sunlight , while I danced around with the awkward camera attempting to get her in focus. I don’t mind the results, especially with 11 years expired film. It has a  nice raw feel to it, I do believe.

We are getting down to the wire for the final project, I want to have everything shot by thanksgiving so I can get my order in to Lulu in time for my crit.

We shall see how this pans out.

I’ve also printed out a models release form from the internet ( god, I love Google, and how it answers all of life’s questions). I don’t expect my book to bring me a whole lot of fame and fortune , but I think its good practice to be ‘professional’ or as close as one can come.

The palladium / Kallitype crit is today. I was pretty much digging palladium so much that I got kicked out of Harder a few times. I have some ‘not-too-shabby’ prints of some old polaroids i took, and other obscure images. But I wont spoil/bore you with the details , I’ll wait for today’s crit to do that…

I hate to be the alt process darkroom Nazi , or just a giant pain to everyone but seriously , if you use up all the chemistry..MAKE MORE. Its fun trust me, you’ll feel like a mad scientist mixing the toxic chemicals.

And thats it.I now must incessantly check my email for my packages to arrive.

2 Responses to “Two paychecks and some tears later…”

  1. danapastusec said

    alt process darkroom nazi!! haha
    P.S. I do look pissed. sorry :/

  2. michaelchernoff said

    go cry a little bit more

Leave a Reply

