Mixed bag

December 22, 2010

So the semester ended…lots of mixed feelings, Hopefully the break will give me the time I need to feel …”refreshed” as I return to finish up.

I’ve been working on sorting out an idea I had a while back that all started with this:

Which resulted in this: 

If that didn’t keep your interest, basically Im photographing every single thing I own. In a mock studio lighting set up. The past couple of weeks i’ve been purging, which at first I thought would be detrimental to the integrity of the project but A.) I still will own a ton ( literally) of ‘stuff ‘ and B.) If I ever want to feel like I can actually accomplish something, and/or finish in a weeks timeline, I had to get rid of roughly 6 black garbage bags of crap. 3 bags of clothes went to Salvation Army ( shirts and pants i hung on to from high school, hoping I would one day fit back into them) , boxes of an assortment of art supplies went to young kids that I know will benefit and use them, and roughly 2 bags of just trash, ( i.e. old papers, broken bits, old containers no one wants..etc.)  I’ve worked on categories and sub categories of how to organize it all . So far I have:

1. ART.

  • my art
  • other peoples art that I own
  • supplies ( cameras, painting , print, paper, jewelry making, dark room set up, craft/sewing supplies, drawing , tools, )

2. CLOTHES

  • undergarments ( bras, underwear)
  • pajamas
  • jeans
  • t-shirts, blouses, and tank tops
  • dresses/dress clothes
  • shoes, boots, sneakers
  • summer wear ( bathing suits, shorts)
  • winter wear ( coats, scarves, gloves, hats)
  • accessories ( jewelry, bags, tights , belts )

3. HOUSEWARES

  • lamps/ lighting
  • plants
  • knickknacks/decor/ bottles
  • crockery( bowls, silverware, pots and pans)
  • family photos ( ? does this belong here?)
  • Frames
  • Papers/documentation/ manuals (?)

4. BOOKS

  • art
  • text
  • fiction
  • non-fiction
  • magazines/pamphlets/undergrad and grad school catalogs.

5.TOILETRIES

  • dental care ( toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, etc)
  • make up , perfume
  • tampons
  • general hygiene products ( shampoo, razor, soap, deodorant, etc )
  • towels

6.ELECTRONICS

  • laptop/accessories
  • hard drive
  • cellphones ( current and old/broken)
  • cables
  • digital camera(s?)
  • tablet
  • records/record player
  • cds/dvds
  • boxes for said items(?)

7. OFFICE SUPPLIES

  • paper, stationary
  • pens, pencils, staplers, paper clips, rubber bands, scissors

8. MONEY

  • wallets
  • bank statements ( with private info blotted out)
  • check book
  • cards ( bank card, license, membership cards, etc.)

9. STUFF IN STORAGE ( ATTIC)

  • old toys

It shall be an interesting endeavor. I’ve gotten over the ‘bashful’ aspect of it ( a.k.a . that my professors will undoubtedly see all my underwear.)   Im hoping another purge will ensue after the photographing. Maybe this will help me once and for all start on the track to simplifying my life/possessions….

but I highly doubt it.

2 Responses to “Mixed bag”

  1. Why are you purging…is it because of that book Courtney? I guess a photograph is just as well but s N’SYNC album, great tunes lost…lost forever only to be purchased on itunes.

  2. courtneywilcox said

    Michael, unfortunately for you, I actually never like any boy bands, even as a 8 year old girl. No N’SYNC albums for me. ever. I mainly got rid of clothes, and some “acquired’ supplies i never use. I still will take me at least a week straight to do this project, if not longer

Leave a Reply

